About me – NE Non League

Since I started @NE_NonLeague, I’ve found myself feel welcomed by so many people and teams from the North East, receiving weekly invites to games and constantly conversing about past and future fixtures. It’s crazy to think I only started the page in November, yet I’ve gained over 250 followers which is something I never thought I’d achieve, and it’s still growing!

One thing I do get asked fairly frequently is ‘who is the mystery person behind NE_NonLeague?’ So, I felt a nicely written piece about myself would solve any curiosities anyone may have.

So, my name’s Adam, I’m 24 and I live in Billingham. I’m a lifelong Whitby Town supporter, both home and away, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. But, besides a passion for Whitby Town, I absolutely love Non League Football of any kind. I’ve only ever been to two Premier League games, and that’s it for the top four flights of English Football. Every other game I’ve ever been to has involved a Non League team of some sort.

Via direct message, I’ve been asked a few questions, so here are the eagerly anticipated answers:

What’s the furthest you’ve ever travelled to a game?

Back on the 6th September, Whitby Town played an FA Cup Preliminary Round Replay over in Winsford against Winsford United. For myself and my Fiancée, it was an 146 mile, each way, journey across the country to watch a rather feisty game where Whitby Town came away with a 2-1 victory, just. By far the most tired I’ve ever been driving home, but totally worth it!

Out of all the games you’ve been to, which one have you enjoyed the most?

Way back to last season, on the 2nd of January, a struggling Whitby Town travelled over to high flying Nantwich with new manager Chris Hardy at the helm. The weather was torrid and I honestly wasn’t too optimistic about the result. But a Mikey Roberts chip and a Ryan Brobbel wonder strike helped Whitby to a 2-1 victory and initiated the great escape that saw Whitby just about survive the drop.

What’s the most disappointed you’ve been following a game?

It was a Whitby Town game again; no surprises there! It was a tossup between two games, but away to Workington this season just about tops it. It actually sounds a bit selfish, seeing as we’ve been flying high in the Northern Premier League for a while now, and I shouldn’t take it for granted. But, we travelled to Workington high in confidence, and expected a close game. On a pitch that was unplayable, in my opinion, Whitby fought hard, but ended up on the wrong side of a 4-0 result.

But we’re currently fourth in the league! And a lot of my local Non League teams are also high flying, and ever so welcome when I travel over to do a write up on their games.

I’m not too sure if this will help you all form an image of the alias behind NE Non League, but it might!

Thank you to everyone who’s supported me so far with NE Non League, and to every team that’s invited me along and provided amazing hospitality. Here’s to making more memories in the North East!

Leave a Reply

